Movember #NaBloPoMo

My brother had Hodgkin’s Non-Lymphoma when he was 24 (I was 22 at the time), I watched his life change in a heartbeat. From that moment onwards he believed his cancer only happened to him, but it happened to his family around him as well. I watched this outgoing confident person become an angry bitter resentful young man. None of us can ever forget sickness, however it strikes, strikes at the whole family unit. Cancer isn’t private; its public side effects are demeaning and humiliating. My big brother found his friends were embarrassed to talk about it, our extended family genuinely thought the best way to handle it were to ‘leave us to it’, like it was a private sickness. That privacy is what can alienate a family into isolation.

The stigma of cancer is huge, Movember is important because it takes something private (prostate cancer) into a public hairy ‘stache’ light… During November I walk around London smiling, hoping that every ‘stache ‘ I encounter is about Movember. I hope every man I encounter with a moustache is a friend, brother, uncle or father making a gentleman’s effort to give his public finger up to the ‘C’ word.

If you haven’t signed up for it, DO IT NOW. I think you’ll be surprised how many of your friends and family are proud of you, and if not… I’m proud of you.

One response to “Movember #NaBloPoMo

  1. Pingback: Get checked out! | mugofdecaf's Blog·

Leave a Reply

