How to make English Madelines

Yesterday I wrote about how my Nan makes lovely English Madelines at Bonfire night, but what I didn’t tell you was I am a Madeline-maker-in-training for Bonfire night. Last year my Nan showed me how, and this year she’s lent me her dariole moulds and told me to make them on my own. High pressure indeed! Now that the job has been completed I thought I would do you a ‘How to…’ as part of November’s National Blogging Posting Month.

Ingredients (for 12):
100g (4oz) Caster Suger
100g (4oz) Margarine
100g (4oz) Self raising flour
Pinch of salt
2 eggs
vanilla extract
A dessertspoon of milk
Melted butter for the dariole tins

To decorate:
Jam – Nan’s always preferred half raspberry (seedless) and half strawberry
Desiccated Coconut
Glace Cherries, halved

Preheat the oven to 160°C/fan oven 140°C/325°F/Gas mark 3
Cooking time 15-20 mins

Weigh out your sugar and margarine and set them in the mixer, you need to cream them until the mixture is light and fluffy.

While that’s creaming, weigh out your flour and crack your eggs into a cup with a teaspoon of vanilla extract. At this stage I would also turn on the oven to warm up, use melted butter to brush the inside of your dariole moulds, I then left them under the grill to stay warm.

Once your mixture is fluffy, add in the eggs bit by bit. It may curdle a little, if it does add a pinch of your weighed out flour. At this stage you’re adding air into your mixture.

Sieve the flour and pinch of salt into the mixture a bit at a time, use a metal spoon to fold the flour in. Any flour folding should be done by hand as a mixer will knock the air out. The mixture will be doughy, so add in a dessert spoon of milk for moisture.

You need to fill your dariole moulds half full. I quickly used a tea spoon to flatten out the mixture before it went in the oven.

Put the moulds in oven for 15-20 mins, pull them out once they’re golden brown and have shrunk slightly from the edge of the mould. Leave them on a cooling rack for 10 mins until you can handle them.

I gently used a flat knife round the edge of the moulds, I then turned the whole mould upside down and tapped it bottom like a sand castle. Mine all popped out easily although it was tense for a while.

Put 2 spoon full of each jam into a bowl. I used a splash of boiling water to stir the mixture, I also popped the bowl into the microwave for 30 secs to make is easy to work with. I put the coconut into a separate bowl.

Using a fork I rolled the Madelines into the jam and then into the coconut. I decorated with half a glace cherry.

They look so yummy, I hope they pass the Nan seal of approval – fingers crossed!

One response to “How to make English Madelines

  1. Pingback: Bonfire night #NaPoBloMo | 123amylou's Blog·

Leave a Reply

